Skip to content
August 4, 2011 / kateprengaman

Spicy Sweet Potatos and Black Beans

Since I started dating Brandt, I’ve been making a lot more spicy dishes, since he loves spicy foods.  This vegetarian dish is one of our favorites, and if you make a big batch, it keeps and reheats great for lunches. We like to use the veggie and bean mix as a filling for corn tortillas, with some melted monteray jack or pepper jack cheese. Yum.

The main ingredients are pretty cheap, so that’s another benefit of this dish.  2 sweet potatoes, an onion, a red pepper, black beans, and hot peppers.  I usually use jalapenos, but in this batch, I used Anahiem peppers, which are less spicy, so I used a lot more.   Not pictured ingredients include salt and pepper, oil, garlic, cumin, and cayenne (optional).

Wash and dice everything into big chunks.  I like to start with the sweet potatoes, onion, and garlic first, because they need more time to cook then the peppers. Add a big splash of oil to a big pan, and start sauteing.  While the potatoes and onions are cooking, chop the peppers.  If you like you food hot, or you are using mild peppers like these Anahiems, keep the seeds. When I use jalapenos, I tend to remove most of the seeds.

Once the sweet potatoes are starting to get soft, add in the diced peppers and the drained beans. Season with salt and pepper and cumin.  I like quite a bit of cumin. Taste for spice level, and if you need a little more, add a few shakes of cayenne. Once everything is cooked soft, it’s done.

I like to eat this stuff on corn tortillas like soft tacos, but it’s also pretty good as filling for a big burrito too.  A little melted cheese tops it off perfectly.

Leave a comment